Writing.

Writing is speaking perfectly the second time around.

Or maybe third, or fourth, or… hang on, I’m on edit six and it’s still looking far from perfect.  But you know what I mean.

It’s strange though, that when I hear myself talk, I hear myself saying the wrong things all the time: using the wrong words, stuttering over sentences that go on too long and never really come to any sort of conclusion.  But I can’t seem to stop myself.

Now, I’m not saying that my writing is perfect, but it is certainly clearer than my spoken word.  The reason for that is simple; writing is not linear.

In my novel Tidemarks that I’m currently editing, the storyline has chopped and changed so many times, and there are now characters in it, with major word counts dedicated to them, that were barely mentioned in the first draft.  I don’t really see how a story could be written any other way.  But there has to be a point where we stop chasing perfection – mainly because, like the title suggests, most things in life aren’t perfect.  Surely if the writing was too perfect then it would be unreal, and sit uncomfortably.

I think this is where I am with my current project; I’m trying to chase perfection, but I think I may be chasing it down the wrong alley.  Perhaps now is the time to let someone read it, and tell me that – yes it is far from perfect!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

