I’m in Another World Now. Let Me Be.

I find myself in a predicament:  I need to start editing my previous novel.  What’s wrong with that?  Well, I’m stuck into the new story now and I need to keep charging forwards with that one.  Why not do both?  TIME!

This is when I curse the fact that I am not from a privileged background; then I would have all of the time in the world to pursue my creative endeavours and I could do both, but as it is there are the old problems of paying for house, car, food etc – and to do that it means standing around in a shop for forty hours a week with my mind wandering off on narrative tangents throughout the day.

I need to make more time, but there just doesn’t seem to be any available, and it always feels like you’re treading old ground when you return to a familiar story; especially when the new one is just growing its teeth and beginning to talk.  Then there’s also the fact that the second draft is probably the most crucial and formative part of writing that needs time spent on it to get it right – proper sit down, switch everything else off, time.  It’s where a novel really starts to become the piece of work that you originally envisioned. And, a novel does need time to develop and grow and flavour itself.  Try to tackle it too lightly or too soon and you’re likely to curdle the story.  But, being an unpublished writer, I just can’t shake off this sense of urgency for my work to be out there:  I want it all done, and now.

As always, I think I’ll find a solution, and make more time, or divide it more evenly; but I must remember not to rush it – it’ll be ready when it’s ready, not before or after.  I think I have to seriously look at how I structure my life now though, as I’ve always told myself that I would do what I wanted to do, no matter the cost, and what I want to do is follow my creative heart, in which writing is one of the main players.

I accepted when I first started all of this – as I do now – that this outlook would mean that I was always floating around at the low-pay-scale end of things and that is fine with me (I’m not really interested in money in that way, or what it does to people who have it, come to that), and if I’m not going to be doing what I want to do, well, then there’s nothing else I want to do.

Paid or not, what I write is who I am.  I just wish I had the time to be my writerly self more often.

That’s all for now.

Rob.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m in Another World Now. Let Me Be.

  1. That sense of urgency is a b*tch, isn’t it? I’m struggling with similar issues right now. I want to get my revisions done on my first book, but know I need to take a break to get perspective. I have to remind myself it’s not a race to the finish. But dangit, I want to get it done!

  2. ioniamartin says:

    So on target. This is true, I have often wished I was born with Paris Hilton’s money and my author’s brain. Imagine all the things one could accomplish with millions and nothing else to do. Very best wishes for you to find a little extra time hiding somewhere:)

    • Thanks. I know I’ll find it somewhere; I always manage to, and if I did have the millionaire lifestyle, maybe there wouldn’t be much to write about anyway.
      Cheers for the comment; I enjoy reading your blog. Keep up the good work.
      Rob.

  3. Right there with you. It’s not that we’re not grabbing every hour we can, it’s that there never are enough hours. I’ve proposed int he past that we lobby Congress for the 25-hour day.

Leave a Reply

